February, 22, 2024
Election Update: Nominations, Code, Key Candidates

Election Update: Nominations, Code, Key Candidates

Zardari, Praveena Gali, Aleem Khan, Geelani, Shah Mehmood Miasmin Rashid, Bidar, and others took election nomination papers. Candidates submitted the election papers. Parties will maintain public order, ban the display of arms, and permission for gatherings will be required: A Code of Conduct is a good guideline for officers to prepare election polling schemes soon.

Election Update: Nomination Papers Filed, Key Candidates Revealed

In connection with the general elections, the collection and submission of nomination papers has started. The Election Commission has also issued the Election Code of Conduct. More than 100 nominations for general seats and more than 100 nominations for women and minority seats were received from Lahore. Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif received nomination papers from NA 123 and PP 158 BNI 164. Papers were also obtained from NA 242 Karachi for Shehbaz Sharif. Aleem Khan of the Stability Pakistan Party, Shoaib Siddiqui from NA 119, Rana Mubasher Iqbal of PML-N from NA 124, Nazir Chauhan from PP 182,

PTI’s Yasmin Rashid, Shafqat Mehmood, Sheikh Imtiaz Daram Bukhari, Sanam Javed Shafqat Mahmood Aslam Iqbal, Yer Khalil Tahir Sindhu and others on minority seats got papers. 15 candidates, including former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, received nomination papers from Mansehra Constituency NA-15. Former President Asif Zardari received papers from NA 207 Nawab Shah, Azrul Fazl Mahir Ho from PS 36 Rose, and Yusuf Raza Gilani from Multan Constituency NA 148. PTI leader Ali Alfar said that party founder chairman Imran Khan will contest elections from three constituencies. An application has been filed against the suspension of Imran’s sentence.

Candidate Lineup: Key Figures Secure Nomination Papers in Multiple Cities

On Chairman PTI, Sir Gohar Ali Khan said that Imran Khan will contest elections from Lahore, Mianwali, and Islamabad, and I will contest elections from Buner. 165 people have received nomination papers for three seats in Islamabad. So far no candidate has submitted the papers. Malik Noor Awan, Syed Zafar Ali Shah, Shoaib Shaheen, and Sheikh Ansar Aziz Zeeshan Naqvi are among those who got the papers. Malik Amin Aslam, the former leader of PTI in Attock, and his son Malik Shamsher Aslam filed their nomination papers as independent candidates.

Prominent names who got papers in Rahim Yar Khan include Murtaza Mehmood, Mustafa Mehmood, Khusr and Bakhtiar, Hashim Jawan Bakht, and others. Tehreek-e-Insaf leader Parvez Elahi will contest the election from six constituencies. He has signed nomination papers for National Assembly constituencies 69, 64, and 59 and provincial constituencies 32, 33, and 34, which will be submitted to the Election Commission soon. In Sahiwal, Faisal Dhakko, Chaudhary Asif, Chaudhary Ashraf Sumit, Ayesha Arshad Lodhi, Rana Tariq Javed, and others took the papers.

Dera Ghazi Khan, Usman Buzdar, Dost Muhammad Khosa, Zartaj Gul, Owais Leghari, and others got the papers. In Multan, hundreds of candidates, including Sikandar Hayat Busan, Ahmed Hussain Asir, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Zain Qureshi, Meher Bano, Ali Musa Geelani, Quere Badgar, received their nomination papers.

Election Update: Nominations, Code, Key Candidates
Election Commission of Pakistan

Election Commission Guidelines: Ensuring Fairness and Integrity

Humayun Akhtar of IPP from A97 Tandlianwala has submitted the salary papers. More than 500 nominations have been received for 22 national and 47 provincial seats in Karachi, and few candidates have submitted papers. Meanwhile, the Election Commission issued a code of conduct. Political parties will uphold the rights and freedom of the people, there will be no talk against the ideology of Pakistan, national autonomy, integrity, and security, and the independence and autonomy of the judiciary will be respected. Pakistan forces will not be ridiculed, political parties, aspirants, and agents, morals and public order will be declared as a threat, and giving gifts or inducement to any person to withdraw from the election will be avoided.

Political parties will be obliged to give 5% of tickets to women in general seats, women and transgenders will not be deprived of the electoral process. A polling agent will be present at the time of counting of votes. Political parties will stop workers from all kinds of violence against the media, display of weapons and firearms during rallies and polling will be banned, and campaign advertising from public funds will be banned. Party flags cannot be hoisted on government property. For processions, permission must be taken from the local administration. During the election campaign, there will be a ban on advertising on communal, caste, and linguistic basis.

Election Readiness: Forms, Polling Scheme, and Security Assurance

Discussions on the life of the opponents will be avoided, and no one will be allowed to hang out outside their house. This ban will not apply to the officials of local governments other than the members of an assembly and their own members, from where they are participating in the elections themselves, but they will avoid using official protocols and resources. Political parties can stun hopefuls and action agents by going door-to-door. On the day of polling, it will be allowed to distribute Chi to the voters at the polling station.

It will be banned from writing the candidate’s name on the pitch, party, and candidate Kanshan on the board. According to the code of conduct, a political party or candidate will be allowed to use 23x18ft posters, 9x60ft handbills, 3×9 ft beaters, and 2×3 ft port trays. Quranic verses, hadiths, and holy scriptures of other religions will be respected and avoided from being printed on promotional material. Posters will be strictly prohibited at all government places, national institutions, installations, and bridges. Hoardings, billboards, wall chalking, and penaflex of any size will be strictly prohibited, no photograph of any government servant will be printed on the advertising material. Posters for one party, Peter’s will not make another party.

Election Prep: Forms Submission, Polling Scheme, and Security Assurance

Polling or Action Amanat Presiding Officer Form 145 Count Gushwara and Form 46 (Ballot paper account) signed by a candidate to attach income tax returns of the last 3 years along with food submissions by December 22 can be submitted, the preliminary list of which will be released on December 23.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has directed all the returning officers to prepare the polling scheme soon and release the details of the proposed polling stations by January 4 and said that the polling appointment of staff should be done immediately and approved by D Arad. There will be one polling station with at least 1200 voters. Provincial Election Commissioner Manjab Saeed Gul while talking to the media about whether should I appoint a returning officer for the seats reserved for women has been done. IG Punjab has assured security and other security agencies will also be with us.

Weaverex.ltd powered this Article