February, 22, 2024
PTI Nomination Setbacks in Election Drama

PTI Nomination Setbacks in Election Drama

Several leaders, including PTI founder Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Zain Qureshi, Meher Bano Qureshi, Qasim Suri, Yasmin Rashid, Ali Muhammad Jan, Zulfi Bukhari, Azam Swati, and others faced rejection of their nomination papers. Former Speaker National Assembly Fahmida Mirza, her husband Zulfiqar Mirza, son Hussam Mirza, Pervaiz Elahi, his wife Qaisara Elahi, son Chaudhry Munis Elahi, Sheikh Rasheed, and Bilawal also experienced rejection. However, Bhutto Zardari, Maryam Nawaz, Nawaz Sharif, and Shehbaz Sharif had their papers approved in various constituencies.

Nomination Drama: Rejections and Approvals for PTI Leaders in Multiple Constituencies

PTI founder Shah Mehmood Qureshi’s papers faced rejection because he lacked the right supporter in Constituency NA-122, and also due to his conviction. The Election Commission rejected the papers of PTI leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Zain Qureshi, and Mehrabano Qureshi from NA-151 in Multan, citing reasons such as being a defaulter for Qasim Suri’s papers from NA-263 in Quetta.

PTI accepted nomination papers for Ali Muhammad Khan, Zulfi Bukhari, Azam Swati, and others. However, authorities rejected Hammad Azhar and Sanam Javed’s papers due to terrorism cases. A clash between lawyers and police in Borivali resulted in the arrest of PTI candidates Ayesha Nazir Jatt and Khalid Nisar Dogar.

Various leaders from different constituencies, including Lahore, Rawalpindi, Gujarat, Wazirabad, Daska, Swabi, Peshawar, Bajaur, Nowshera, and others, faced acceptance or rejection of their nomination papers. The grounds for these decisions included non-payment of dues, non-disclosure of assets, and technical reasons.

PTI Nomination Setbacks in Election Drama
IPP top brass’ nomination papers accepted from provincial, national assembly seats

Nomination Update: Tareen Approved, Awan in, Ghamman Out

Jahangir Tareen’s papers received approval in Multan, but election authorities approved the papers of Maulana Fazlur Rehman and Mehmood Achakzai from Balochistan, while rejecting former Governor Balochistan Zahoor Agha’s papers. Nomination papers for two constituencies were accepted for Firdous Ashiq Awan, but PTI candidate Brigadier Raslam Ghamman’s papers for NA-74 faced rejection. The filing of nomination papers for the general elections continued, with appeals possible until January 3, and appellate tribunals set to hear and decide appeals until January 10.

Weaverex.ltd powered this Article.